Pregnancy and birth

Twins!

By now all of the current readers of this blog know that we’re having twins, so I can write about yesterday without anybody getting too huge a surprise.

Our scan was at 8am. Tristan was there, sitting at the head end while the magic wand did its internal scanning thing, and he reckons that he knew what was up straight away: he could see the ultrasound screen. I was lying back and thinking of England, so I got a bit of a shock when the doctor casually remarked, “looks like there’s two in here”. Obviously, I’d been trying to prepare for every outcome from no heartbeat to three heartbeats, but in that instant I learned that there’s no way to be ready for truly life-changing news.

Tristan and I looked at each other and burst out laughing. I propped myself up on my elbows and the doctor showed us the two babies, each in their own sac. One thing we didn’t ask – and should have, in retrospect – is whether they’re also in separate placentas: I’ve since learned that a shared placenta means identical twins. I’d assumed that they’d be fraternal twins, from two of the three eggs I had, but there’s no reason why they couldn’t be identical twins from one egg. I’m sure we’ll be able to get a better idea at a later scan.

Anyway, the doctor measured my two little passengers – one baby is 1.00cm long and the other one is 0.94cm long. They had good, strong heartbeats and everything looked as it should, which is excellent news.

Tristan and I spent all of yesterday in total shock. I mean, we’d just started getting used to the prospect of having a baby – now we’ll have two! I described it yesterday as both the most brilliant news ever and the most terrifying news ever, and that’s pretty much how I still feel about it. It’s going to be incredibly challenging, particularly in the early days, but it’s going to be awesome.

Poor Tristan was left a bit sweaty and heart-poundy by the news. I think that seeing the heartbeat would have been a huge reality check for him anyway, and the sight of two heartbeats actually left him feeling a little freaked out! And he had to go straight back to work afterwards and pretend like nothing is happening…

I was driving to the supermarket today and realised that, for a minute or two, I’d totally forgotten that I was pregnant. Then it suddenly hit me: I’M HAVING TWINS!!!

The doctor calculated our due date as 29/01/2013, but that’s a 40 week date and I’ve since learned that 38 weeks is considered full term for twins. So I guess we’ll be seeing the babies in mid-January. I’m glad that I won’t be heavily pregnant all summer – Auckland’s pretty humid and I don’t think it would be fun to be vast throughout that kind of weather. And oh my God, imagine how huge I’ll be by the end!

So we’ve now got a fantastic scan picture stuck to our fridge, and I’m seeing my GP tomorrow and checking out an obstetricians’ clinic next Thursday (Shore Birth, which has been recommended to us by a couple of friends). Now we just need to get through the next five weeks with both of the kids safe and healthy, and then we’ll be able to tell the world!

6 thoughts on “Twins!

  1. Chances are a bump will tell the world before you get to 12 weeks 😉 Congratulations, I’m so excited for you both. I’ve written my questions down for my scan today, I know that as soon as we get there I will be so nervous I’ll forget them all otherwise.

  2. Nah, surprisingly, I didn’t show much with the twins til I was about 14 weeks – and we still thought it was only one until the scan at 19 weeks! Also, the shared placenta thing can be hard to pick if they implant close together – our girls looked like they had one placenta, but it was obviously two side by side. You’ll just have to wait til B-Day til find out for sure!! 🙂

    1. I hadn’t realised/remembered that you didn’t find out about the girls until so far into your pregnancy, Pip! Blimey, thank goodness I’ve found out a little earlier – I think I’m going to need all this time to get my head around it!

  3. Loving your blog Jacq! So happy for you and can’t wait to keep reading. My twins were born on January 26th so yours will be close! I made it to 38 weeks. Just had to take it real easy toward the end. But I do remember the 7 week scan when we found out I was pregnant with twins. Oh the range of emotions! Happiness, denial, fear, worry, but mostly shock. Probably didn’t really sink in that I was having twins until 6 months for me :). Heck, I STILL look at them and can’t believe I have twins! Lol. Xo

    1. Thanks, Kate! It’s great to hear that you took you two to full term. And I’m so lucky to know people like you who have gone through this before me and can let me know what to expect! And to think that you’re doing it with Jackson and Charlotte in the house as well! Amazing!

      Tristan and I are STILL turning to each other occasionally and saying ‘oh my GOD we’re having TWINS!!!!’ The thought of having two little people growing inside me is probably the most surreal thing I can imagine.

      xxx

Leave a Reply

