Pregnancy and birth

Thirteen weeks

This pregnancy is flying by, people: only 24 weeks to go!

This week’s developmental update comes courtesy of babycenter.com:

How your baby’s growing:

Fingerprints have formed on your baby’s tiny fingertips, her veins and organs are clearly visible through her still-thin skin, and her body is starting to catch up with her head — which makes up just a third of her body size now. If you’re having a girl, she now has more than 2 million eggs in her ovaries. Your baby is almost 3 inches long (the size of a medium shrimp) and weighs nearly an ounce.

It’s quite funny that, at a time when many women feel terrible at the thought of food, these pregnancy guides keep using food comparisons to describe the baby’s size.

We had our regular four-weekly obstetrician’s appointment yesterday (from 24 weeks or so we’ll shift to fortnightly appointments, and I think we have weekly appointments towards the end). This time, we met Alex, another of the six obstetricians in the practice (they like patients to get to know everybody, so we’re comfortable dealing with different people from the practice in the case of an emergency). Of course, this provided an opportunity for yet another scan! Twin A has swung around since the 12 week scan, so both babies are now lying feet-down, and still neatly stacked.

I liked Alex a lot – she was very keen on facts and statistics, which suits me very well. Two interesting things we learned:

  • Around 50% of twins are delivered before 37 weeks; and
  • Although I’m 13 weeks pregnant, I’m measuring like I’m 16 weeks – and when I’m 24 weeks pregnant I’ll be the size of a full term pregnancy with a singleton. And then I’ll just keep expanding…

Yesterday two lovely twin mothers sent me their full term photos, so I could see what I had in store. It is truly amazing that the human body can expand to accommodate two (or more) babies – and then recover and look normal again afterwards! The photos were incredible.

We also joined our local multiple birth club over the weekend. I’ve heard nothing but good things about multiple birth clubs: apparently they’re an excellent source of advice, reassurance, and equipment rentals. My friend Kirsty had already added me to the club’s Facebook page, where I’d been lurking for a few weeks, so I finally introduced myself on Sunday and was rewarded with lots of lovely, welcoming replies. It is so heartening to get to know people who have gone through the shock of having twins (especially as a first pregnancy) and lived to tell the tale. I’m really looking forward to meeting other members face to face.

The pregnancy blog will be silent for the next week because we’re heading to Port Douglas in Northern Queensland this morning, for seven days of rest and relaxation. This couldn’t have come at a better time for me, to be honest. Although my nausea has pretty much disappeared in recent days, it’s been replaced with the most incredible exhaustion. It’s like I have absolutely no stamina. Late last week I spent an hour or so wandering around some shops and doing some errands, and ended up so tired that I had to sit on a sofa in the mall, next to the little old ladies, and spend 15 minutes resting before I could face the supermarket! And on Saturday I went to Devonport with Dad and spent no more than 30 minutes on my feet – ten minutes in an art gallery, plus walking a few metres down the road to a book shop (where I sat down to check out a couple of books), and then a few more metres to a cafe, where I sat to eat brunch, before walking the very short distance back to the car. In total I think I probably walked no more than 400m, but when I got home I was so wiped out that I had a 90 minute sleep on the sofa. And this was after sleeping for eight hours overnight and lazing around in bed, reading, for a couple of hours in the morning! Apparently the second trimester is supposed to bring with it a great burst of new-found energy, but I’m not sure that this ‘rule’ applies when you’re having twins. It feels as though my body has suddenly realised that growing new people is really hard work!

So if you need me in the next few days, I’ll be the one having a nap on the sun lounger.

7 thoughts on “Thirteen weeks

  1. Remember to slather on the sunscreen! Nothing like a nap in the sun and finding you’ve been tanning only half your face…it makes you feel STUPID! Enjoy the break and have a nice rest as a couple, you wont get many soon. And umm maybe think of what to say to all the nosy people who will start to say things like “gosh, you’re big. Is it twins?” Like they are psychic.

    1. Hahaha! Yes, I guess I’ve got all that to look forward to! And I’m very pleased to report that I totally avoided sunburn and didn’t go outside once without sunscreen on my face – I’m super-pale anyway, so I have to be really careful, and I’ve heard about that thing where pregnant women get hyper-pigmentation from sun exposure… I didn’t fancy the sound of that!

    1. I KNOW!!! It’s almost impossible to imagine that I could be that size in ten weeks’ time, although my bump does seem to grow noticeably on a daily basis now. When we come down for your engagement party I think I’ll be at 21 weeks, so you’ll all be able to see first hand just how the mighty bump is progressing…

  2. I echo Vickie’s oh my Lord comment!!! Plus, you’ve got 26 weeks to go – while 50% go before 37 weeks, 50% go after, and believe me, you will far prefer they stay put for as long as possible rather than having to go to neo-nates! Hope you’re having a lovely break! 🙂

    1. These days they won’t let you go beyond 38 weeks with twins – they’ll induce you if you get to that stage. So one way or another we’ll see them by mid-January! I really hope we can get to at least 36 weeks, although apparently pre-term twins actually fare better than pre-term singletons – no idea why!

Leave a Reply

