Pregnancy and birth

Sixteen weeks

Let’s see what the babies are up to this week!  Today’s update comes from huggies.co.nz:

This week your baby is able to make sideways movements with its eyes. Though its eyelids are still sealed for protection, the muscles which control their eyes are starting to work. They scrunch up their eyes when bright light shines through your abdominal wall at what, to them, probably looks like a reddish glow.

Lots of movements from your baby this week. Though unless you’ve been pregnant before, you’re still blissfully unaware.

This week your baby can open its little mouth and move its tiny lips. There’s lots of practicing going on as well with breathing and swallowing movements, so that amniotic fluid is constantly being cycled through.  Although there’s only a cup or so of fluid surrounding your baby, it is enough to protect and support it in its own warm little bath.

This week your baby has probably found its umbilical cord and is holding on to it.  Don’t worry that their grip is so tight it will restrict any blood flow, the baby will let go before there is any risk of that happening.

And just for a bit more information, here’s an update from babycenter.com:

Get ready for a growth spurt. In the next few weeks, your baby will double his weight and add inches to his length. Right now, he’s about the size of an avocado: 4 1/2 inches long (head to rump) and 3 1/2 ounces. His legs are much more developed, his head is more erect than it has been, and his eyes have moved closer to the front of his head. His ears are close to their final position, too. The patterning of his scalp has begun, though his locks aren’t recognizable yet. He’s even started growing toenails. And there’s a lot happening inside as well. For example, his heart is now pumping about 25 quarts of blood each day, and this amount will continue to increase as your baby continues to develop.

And also from babycenter.com, here’s a picture of fraternal twins at 16 weeks:

To celebrate the four month milestone, I had my first “gosh, you’re huge” comment yesterday: I was buying maternity leggings at a local department store and the young girl behind the counter asked me how far along I was.  Four months, I said, and hastened to add that I was carrying twins (I could see her eyes widen).  “Oh – I thought that you look very big for four months”, she replied, before going on to become very excited about me having twins.  I guess I probably have a few of these comments coming my way in the next few months, so I might as well get used to it.

I’m very happy to report that my pregnancy rhinitis has been much better in the last few days – it’s still a pain, and it makes me cough a lot, but I’ve been using a saline nasal spray at night and it’s helped a lot.

I was talking to my mother last night and told her that the one thing that is a shame about a twin pregnancy (at this stage, anyway – I’m sure that I might discover other disadvantages as time passes) is that I don’t really feel like I’m getting to experience the ‘normal’ benefits of the supposedly vibrant and energetic second trimester.  I’m already finding that I get so tired.  However, everybody keeps telling me that I should just accept that I need to rest and revel in being able to put my feet up, so I suppose that there’s merit in that.  And I haven’t felt the babies move yet, so I guess that I’m more likely to do so if I’m not moving much myself.

At the moment I’m trying (very slowly) to tidy out a lot of stuff in the house and pack it into plastic crates to be stored downstairs, so we have less clutter to work around when we start organising the nursery.  This is giving me an opportunity to pack away all of the clothes that I can no longer fit – a slightly depressing exercise, although I keep reminding myself that I’m not going to have this weird pregnant body forever…

6 thoughts on “Sixteen weeks

  1. My wife had the same experience. She just said she was 8 months pregnant all the time as arguing with an 8 month pregnant woman is a dangerous thing to do at the best of times! You tend to get what you want when complaining in a shop or waiting in a queue. Take advantage why not.

  2. I laughed out loud about that silly girl saying that to you. She’s obviously never had a baby if she thinks that you’re huge now – with twins or a singleton!
    Keep up your iron levels! I was surprised by how draining the second trimester has been so far and I only have one nutrient thief on board. Try that floridex stuff from the ad on tv, liquid iron is supposed to be absorbed better than other forms – although I hear it tastes rough!

    1. Good thinking, Steph – I’ll talk to my obstetrician about it when I see him next week, and see if he thinks that I’m lacking iron. I’m on Elevit and had assumed that this would do the trick for everything supplement-related, but I guess that twins do take their toll. And I’m only eating red meat once in a blue moon, which probably isn’t great.

      I am tempted to go back to Farmers in a few months’ time and see the same girl, so she can really grasp what a heavily pregnant woman looks like!

  3. Floridex is way better tasting than other liquid iron – if you do have low iron definitely try that before the others! The other ones taste metallicy – sort of like blood, it’s gross! Hope you’re feeling more energetic soon xxx

Leave a Reply

