Pregnancy and birth

Twenty weeks

I can’t flipping believe that we’ve reached twenty weeks! This year is flying by.

The babies are continuing to grow and thrive. Here’s the update from the Oh Baby weekly email:

Twenty weeks into your pregnancy, your baby has grown significantly from that first dividing cell. The foetus now weighs about 9 ounces (260 grams) and measures 5.5 to 6.3 inches (14 to 16 centimetres) from crown to rump. The baby’s growth is taking up increasing room in the uterus, and continued growth will put pressure on the mother’s lungs, stomach, bladder, and kidneys.

Under the vernix caseosa (a protective, waxy coating), your baby’s skin is thickening and developing layers, including the dermis, epidermis, and subcutaneous layer. Hair and nail growth continues this week.

Your baby’s senses (taste, smell, sight, hearing and tactile) are becoming more sensitive.

If you are having a female she will already have a total of 6 million eggs in her ovaries which she will release for the rest of her fertile life.

I’m definitely feeling that increased pressure on my internal organs: my stomach gets very uncomfortable if I eat more than a fairly small amount at a time, and there’s been some hardcore bladder tap-dancing today – I feel like I need to go to the loo every five minutes.

My mother asked me to start reporting on the size of my bump, so I can now reveal that my current circumference (at my widest bump point: my tummy button) is 100 cm. Crikey…

One thought on “Twenty weeks

Leave a Reply

