Pregnancy and birth

25 weeks

And the weeks keep rolling by!  It’s all go in my bump at the moment – either my anterior placenta has shifted a bit, or our girl has been working out, because I’m now feeling a lot of movement from both babies.   She’s been particularly active in the past few days.

Here’s what babycentre has to say about foetal development this week:

Your baby now weighs nearly 660g and is about 35cm long from crown to heel. He’s  beginning to exchange his long, lean look for some baby fat. As he does, his  wrinkled skin will begin to smooth out and he’ll start to look more like a  newborn. His senses are becoming more sophisticated, too. At 26 weeks, fetal  brain scans show response to touch. If you shine a light on your belly, your  baby will turn his head, which means his optic nerve is working.

We’ve got a growth scan this Friday, so we should get some idea of the babies’ current lengths and weights then.  Our obstetrician will then keep tracking the growth statistics, to make sure that both babies are developing at a similar rate – later on, if there’s any concern about the smaller baby (which was our girl at the last scan – apparently it’s not unusual for girls to be smaller than boys, and for the lead twin to be bigger) it may prompt a call for an early delivery.

I haven’t yet started shining lights on my bump, to test the babies’ optic nerves.  That sounds like it would be pretty annoying for the babies.

Huggies adds:

Your baby’s nostrils are patent, meaning they’re not closed over like they were. Other changes are happening in your baby’s lungs as well which will help them to breath independently at birth.  That all important surfactant is coating their tiny alveoli, helping them to stay open and retain oxygen at birth.

It’s good to hear that the important bits are getting sorted out.

The OHbaby people have a bit to add as well:

Your baby now weighs 500 grams. Your baby’s fully developed hands, complete with tiny fingernails, are now feeling his or her surroundings, including his or her own skin and even the umbilical cord. Your baby’s dexterity is developing, too – fingers can now curl into a fist.

Your baby’s brain is rapidly developing, as are his or her tastebuds – he or she may even be aquiring specific tastes already!
You may notice that your baby has resting and alert periods that are the same each day. You’ll notice fetal activity more readily when you are doing sedentary activities.

I guess that the combined advice of babycentre and OHbaby illustrates the range of what can be healthy when it comes to a foetus’s weight.

If my diet has anything to do with it, these babies will be born with a great love of dairy products.  My mother had serious dairy cravings during her pregnancies and I have always loved dairy (although my little sister isn’t a huge fan, if memory serves me right).

And maybe the increased baby movement I’m feeling can be chalked up to the babies now being able to both kick and punch…

All of the websites’ information about what I might be going through is fairly unexciting, so I’ll spare you.  I can tell you that I’m noticing the impact of overdoing things far more now, which isn’t too great.  For example, I walked Tui the Wonder Dog on Friday morning, took it easy for an hour or two afterwards, and then went out for lunch and mooched around a couple of shops with friends.  I felt pretty rough by Friday night, and was a write-off for nearly all of Saturday – and I wasn’t just exhausted: I also had a fair bit of bump pain and discomfort.  It was a bit of a wake-up call.

I really don’t want these sprogs arriving early – I’d like them to be 2013 babies – so I’m trying to get my head around the idea that I have to slow down.  I’ve always known that the time would come where I really needed to spend more time with my feet up, but I’d hoped that I would get much further into November before the day would come.  However, I’m now thinking that – my daily dog walking responsibilities aside – I’m going to have to start putting in more hours on the sofa.  After all, it would be fairly foolish to have gone through so much effort to get pregnant, only to make life difficult now for me and (much more importantly) the babies.

In other news: I weighed myself this morning and can report that I have gained 16 kgs since finding out that I was pregnant.  I seem to be gaining around 0.5 kg a week, which would put me on track to end up around 22 kgs over my pre-pregnancy weight (if we last for another twelve weeks, as planned).  Soon, I’ll weigh more than Tristan!

It’s very strange to see the numbers creep up on the scales, although I know that it’s all good and healthy – I haven’t been eating a vast amount of rubbish, I don’t seem to have gained vast amounts of weight anywhere aside from my boobs and bump (and backside, probably to stop me from falling onto my face), and the babies need me to nourish them.  I’m also realistic about how long it will probably take to lose weight afterwards.  Ideally, I’d like to breastfeed the babies for at least six months, so I won’t be able to worry about weight loss during that time.  For now, I’m taking comfort in the fact that I WILL be able to lose excess weight one day, and that, by gaining a healthy amount during my pregnancy, I’m increasing the chances that the babies will be born healthy.   Yay!

2 thoughts on “25 weeks

  1. It’s a funny feeling having this small amount of time to gain large amounts of weight and having to wrap your head around the fact it’s normal and (as loong as its not a TON of weight) normal. The first half of pregnancy was hard, until I got that big baby bump and could really grasp why I’m doing it.

    It’s definitely time for you to put your feet up and concentrate on growing two healthy babies that stay in as long as possible. Just remember Weight Watchers works wonders if you need it and an injured pregnant woman is no good to anyone! Also having seen breastfeeding women doing WW (I was a staff volunteer all last year) you’d be amazed how fast the weight can come off during that time.

    1. Thanks Steph – that’s great advice. You’re right: it’s the concept of gaining so much weight in such a short time that makes it really weird. But I’m sure I’ll be able to shift any superfluous kilograms eventually, and I’m also sure that I’ll have far more important things to worry about once the babies are here!

Leave a Reply

