Pregnancy and birth

29 weeks

63 days to go!

Here’s what Huggies has to say this week (and what I’ve got to say about it):

Your baby weighs around 1.4 kilograms this week but is still less than half the weight it will be at birth. There is lots of fat still being accumulated under its skin and if it were born now would look very thin with long limbs.

We’re looking forward to the growth scan on Friday, to find out how big the babies are now. When I was at my aqua natal class this morning Helen, one of my new friends from my twin antenatal class, commented that my bump is a pretty decent size – hopefully this means that they babies are chubbing up nicely. I don’t think I mentioned it after last week’s obstetrician appointment, but my fundal height was measured (the size of my bump, in other words), and at 28 weeks I was measuring like I was 38 weeks pregnant. This sounds fairly huge (and it is), but don’t be fooled: there’s still plenty of time for me to get a lot bigger. Last night on Facebook I found out that a woman I know measured at 55 weeks when she was 32 weeks pregnant with her twins (and she had her twins at 32 weeks, which is terrifying to contemplate – imagine if I had the babies in three weeks’ time!!)

Your baby’s movements will probably peak in the month from weeks 26-30. There is still room for complete body movements and changes of position now, before quarters get too cramped inside your uterus.

As I mentioned yesterday, there’s a lot of movement going on at the moment. Both babies were very active first thing this morning, although they quietened down when I was at my aqua natal class. Over lunch with Helen and Maria our daughter had hiccups for a couple of minutes, which was very funny.

Your baby’s airways are further maturing, with the little tree like structures – the bronchioles and alveoli increasing in number. It takes up to eight years for a child’s respiratory system to mature fully so these are still early days.

OK then, I won’t expect the babies to have an eight year old’s lung capacity.

Your baby’s chances of survival, if it were born early are increasing with every week which passes. It may not even need respiratory support if you delivered this week.

Isn’t that fabulous news! Very reassuring.

It may be difficult for your midwife or doctor to say what position your baby is lying in this week. A bony head can easily be confused with a round bottom and your baby may be so mobile, it makes it hard to say with certainty which way it is facing.

I don’t think there’s much doubt with our two little wrigglers – they still seem to be in bunk bed transverse formation, although Friday’s scan will confirm it. I’m guessing that they won’t be able to change position much going forward – they must be starting to run out of room.

I know that I’ve written about having freakish pregnancy dreams in the past, but man, they’ve really gone to the next level recently. This morning I had my first birth dream, which was terrifying. It started innocuously (but weirdly) enough, with the discovery that Danny De Vito seemed to be living with us in some kind of open marriage arrangements. Tristan was at work, so Danny and I went to a cafe to meet up with some of my old school friends. I obviously still had the experience of feeling our daughter’s head yesterday playing on my sub-conscious mind, because in my dream our son’s head suddenly pushed out of my bump – and my skin was as thin as a balloon, and semi-transparent. We could see his little face, which was strange enough (and in my dream it was considered strange as well).

My friends were all very excited at being able to see our little boy, and one of them started stroking his head. Bad move: my bump skin then split over him and his head was poking out! I was totally freaking out, telling Danny to call Tristan and organise me an ambulance. And then I woke up. It was quite traumatic! But I can report that our boy had dark hair.

By the way, aqua natal was much better today – largely because I had a vague idea of what was going on, and could ignore the daft instructor when she annoyed me. Somebody took this lovely photo of my fellow pregnant ladies and me in action:

The rest of my week will involve a lot of doing nothing, plus a manicure and pedicure on Thursday (my fingernails are growing at a crazy rate and really need some love and affection, and I can no longer reach my toenails…)

2 thoughts on “29 weeks

  1. Ha don’t be fooled, babies can still move until much closer to full term. Two seperate people have mentioned feeling like they had an alien inside them and it turned out to be their baby turning. It’s harder to do but if they want to do it…the little stinkers will do it! So sorry to say…anything can happen still. You’ve still got plenty of time, at least one of them should turn down and engage. Hopefully giving you a little bit of space for your lungs in the process.
    Thats so nice that you’ve made twin friends. I don’t see us making friends with any of our antematal class people even though half of them live locally. I think my child raising views might be too extreme for some people anyway. It helps if you have that connection, like having twins or whatever, not just both being knocked up.

    1. I would be delighted if they’d move! They would have so much more room to grow. I guess it would require them to both move, though, so sufficient space is freed up. I’d love it if my ribs were not longer getting battered – so flipping uncomfortable!

      Yes, our antenatal group was pretty decent – we were lucky. I think it’s partially because a lot of people having twins are slightly older (and have either had that ‘older mother twin’ thing, or have had fertility treatment), so everybody seems to be in stable relationships, with good jobs, etc – much more ‘our’ kind of people! There were two or three other lovely couples too, but several people were still working when Helen, Maria and I started catching up fairly regularly, and couldn’t join us. Hopefully we’ll all be able to get together after the babies arrive. It’s going to be fantastic to know other first-time parents with twins only three or four weeks older than our two!

Leave a Reply

