Pregnancy and birth

Gratitude

I’m putting in a few quiet hours on the sofa, as per the instructions of – oh, pretty much everybody who knows me – and I’ve just been thinking about how lucky I am.  I’m lucky both because I’m pregnant with two babies and will soon get to be their mother, and because of all of the wonderful people in my life.

When I started this blog it was primarily because I knew that I’d want to ramble on about pregnancy, babies, motherhood and all of the associated topics, so it made sense to do it all in one place.  I didn’t really know whether anybody aside from my mother and my mother-in-law would bother reading it on a regular basis, but it seems that a few friends have used it as a way of keeping track of what’s going on.  Hopefully it’s prevented me from boring people stupid on Facebook, anyway!

Anyway, the gratitude theme of this particular post is because I have been struck several times in recent weeks by the realisation that we’ve received nothing but enthusiastic, positive feedback from people as they’ve found out that we’ll soon be parents to twins.  Obviously, we expected this from our friends and family members, but the extent of people’s joy for us has been amazing, and has made the time in our lives even happier.  For example, I just logged into an email address that I rarely use, and found a number of lovely, heart-felt messages from my friend Jackie – it was such a nice surprise, and so appreciated (and I hope that she doesn’t now think that I’m a terribly rude cow for not having answered her lovely messages sooner!)

I’ve also been delighted by the response we’ve received from strangers when we’ve had cause to tell them that I’m pregnant with twins (and now that I’m full term size, it’s rare that the subject doesn’t come up: people are forever asking me when I’m due, so I’m endlessly explaining that we’ve still got a few weeks to go, but that I’ve got two on board).  People who don’t even know us have been unfailingly positive, and we haven’t really had any of the doom and gloom ‘ooh – double trouble/you’ll have your hands full/rather you than me’ style of comments that I’d been led to believe I was likely to hear.  In fact, many people have said really wonderful things, telling us that we’re unbelievably lucky and blessed.  We totally agree with them!

I know that when the babies arrive we can expect to be on the receiving end of a lot of interest from people who see us out and about, and I know that this kind of thing can drive a lot of twin parents absolutely mental (I’ve heard tales about supermarket visits involving dozens of repeated conversations to confirm that yes, they are twins; no, they’re not identical; yes, I’m sure, etc).  However, I’m not bothered by the prospect of it – I’m fairly gregarious and I like chatting to people, so the thought of having lots of people wanting to tell me how cute my babies are, or whatever, seems fine with me (and I intend to do the grocery shopping online, anyway!)

All in all, this post is a big thank you to our family and friends, and to all the random strangers who will have no idea about it: thank you for helping to make us even more excited about becoming parents.  We’ve really appreciated your kindnesses and support, and the endless votes of confidence you’ve given us as we prepare to tackle life with twins!

4 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. I am always excited to see a new post and read about the twins! It’s such an exciting time for you guys. And I am happy you are resting more too. šŸ™‚

  2. As I told you in email, you’ve given your friends and family a massive gift by documenting everything like this and sharing it with us. It has given me untold joy and gratitude to read every post. Gosh, I think we all owe you! x

Leave a Reply

