Pregnancy and birth

Anticipation

This time tomorrow I’ll be a mother of two. Unbelievable.

I can’t wait to see our babies for the first time.

I can’t wait to see Tristan’s face when he sees our babies for the first time.

I can’t wait to kiss and cuddle our babies, and count their toes, and try to decide who they most resemble (Queen Victoria and Winston Churchill, if they’re anything like most newborns).

I can’t wait to be able to tell our friends and family that our long-awaited children have finally arrived. We are surrounded by amazing levels of goodwill from people all around the world and it be lovely to share the news with them, knowing how happy they are for us. We are so lucky!

I can’t wait to hear everybody’s reactions to the names that we’ve chosen (people have been very excited about this, which is awesome – and most of the guesses have been nice names, which seems to reflect well on their perception of our taste..!)

I can’t wait to be more comfortable. I’ve been told by lots of people that I can expect to feel better almost immediately: I’ll be able to breathe properly again, for starters, and my constant heartburn should ease off. Yay!

I can’t wait to be able to sleep on my back again.

I can’t wait to be able to shave my legs and paint my toenails.

I can’t wait to be free of pregnancy rhinitis and carpal tunnel syndrome.

I can’t wait to be able to move around without aching knees and throbbing hips.

I can’t wait to be a normal shape again and not prompt people to do a double take when they see me.

I can’t wait to fit my non-pregnancy clothes again. During the past few weeks I’ve been so huge that I’ve only been able to fit four maternity dresses; I am SO sick of them!

I can’t wait to become a parent at last, and start this new phase of our lives.

Tomorrow is going to be amazing. I can’t wait!

8 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. Yeah! All the best to you tomorrow. Can’t wait to see photos and hear you are all doing well. Sending hugs from far, far, away 🙂

    1. We’re due at the hospital at 6.30 in the morning and, barring any emergency c-sections bumping us down the list, should be in surgery at 9ish, so we should be all done by 10ish. It’s so weird to think that we can be so precise about it all!

  2. How amazing to the know day, date and time in advance! You’ll have to try and stay calm today or the adrenaline rush will send the babies into hyperdrive 🙂

    Have just messaged you on FB. Thinking of you both and sending so much love.

    Vic xxx

  3. I’m having a giggle reading this as I remember anticipating the same simples joys in life once the babies were born, like shaving my legs and painting my toenails, getting rid of the carpel tunnel and aching hips and finally being able to sleep on my back again- joy! But all I’ve been able to enjoy so far is getting rid of the carpel tunnel and aching hips – haven’t had time to do the rest! And sleeping on my back – what’s sleep?? Lol! Congrats on your gorgeous new arrivals. We welcomed our 2 beautiful ID girls Charlotte & Ava on 12/12/12.

    1. Hahaha! Nat, you are totally right: I’m going to have to write a follow-up post about what I’ve since learned.

      Congratulations on Charlotte and Ava! Gorgeous names. And you are officially one page ahead of me in the twin manual, so please don’t hesitate to tell me any hints you’ve picked up on the way!

Leave a Reply

