Twin life

Snuggled up

20130119-220452.jpg

Quick baby update: while waiting for my milk to come in properly, Hattie and Joe have lost a little more weight than we’d like. We want to avoid things like feeding tubes, so we’ve been working with a good midwife here to get things organised. For the next 24 hours they’re on a strict carbo-loading programme of very frequent, formula-supplemented feeds that should quickly get them back on track, and by the time we’re finished, my cups should runneth over and we’ll be sorted.

Here they are snuggled up after their first feed on the new regime. Aside from the weight loss, they’re doing pretty well. The last couple of days have been stressful for me: yesterday I had a bad reaction to morphine and threw up a few times, and today’s alternative to morphine left me feeling awful (totally spaced out, like I was communicating underwater). And I’ve been worried about the little ones as they’ve become increasingly difficult to feed – they were getting more and more hungry, which would make them frantic and make it even harder to feed them. Plus, of course, the third day baby blues showed up today and eroded my abilities to cope somewhat! But it’s all good now: I’m pleased that we’ve got a plan, and Tristan is staying at the hospital tonight to help me as we feed them every three or four hours. And my medication has been sorted out. Yay!

The problems with the babies have probably been caused in part by us doing so well at the start – we think that the staff were all saying “oh, they’re doing really well”, and not necessarily checking up on us as much as we might have needed. But never mind; we’re all on the right track now.

8 thoughts on “Snuggled up

  1. 1. This photo is BEYOND adorable.

    2. You are so strong, Jacq. You just gave birth to two humans and are now in the most intense learning curve possible – with no less than your new babies to feed! I know YOU know some hiccups are par for the course, but I don’t think you can hear too often that you are not just coping admirably, but kicking ass. You are already a wonderful mummy!

    1. The Jackie D is ALWAYS right! You Knows It!

      They are gorgeous, and you will probably feel “underwater” for about 6 weeks, until you all get to know each other – Kitty’s stubborn personality was evident from this age, and it’s exactly the same now that she’s 5. Took me a while to get used to the fact that someone so tiny was such a PERSON.

      For me it was difficult and all-consuming with one at a time, I can only imagine what it’s like with two – but you sound really on top of things. Hope you’re managing to enjoy it at the same time!

      Catriona x

      1. Thanks Catriona! I’m definitely finding that, even in the scary or challenging moments, I’m loving it. I’m totally besotted with Hattie and Joe, and I can’t even imagine what it’s going to be like when they’re a few weeks older and able to engage with me, smile, etc. I will get NOTHING done! Xxx

  2. Its a bit tricky when you’re a hungry little thing waiting for mums milk to come in and you only have access to ONE boob rather than the normal two. I bet that formula top up will have them busting the scales in no time. The hiccups sound rough but it sounds like there are no two better equipped people to cope admirably! Hopefully no more medication dramas for you!
    And yes the photo is beyond adorable! I’m sure it’s just because I am jealous and still waiting but oh I could snuffle your babies up!

    1. Thanks so much, Steph! We are all making much better progress today, which is awesome. I can’t WAIT for your girl to arrive, so you can know what it’s like to have one of these amazing baby creatures as part of your life (I feel a big ‘about that whole parental love thing – I get it now!’ post coming on very soon!) xxx

  3. That is just the cutest photo ever! Hattie looks like she knows something secret and is almost smiling (probably wind) and they look very peaceful… asleep!
    I second everyone else Jacq – you are doing an A-MAZING job. Glad you’ve got the meds sorted, that they are both getting some food down and I’m sure being home in your own space will help tremendously too. You’ll probably spend around 23.6 hours a day staring at them in wonder (I’m allowing time off for toilet breaks, sleeping be damned!) xxx

Leave a Reply

