Twins on tour

Les jumeaux en France: 29e journee

We’ve had a couple of quiet days at home, which have done me the world of good – particularly as I’ve been given some respite on the child care front and have even managed to take a couple of naps. I’ve needed them: Hattie and Joe continue to keep me up for most of the night. I keep having false starts on the self-settling front, largely because I’ve been sleeping in the same room as them and I’ve found it nigh on impossible to lie there and listen to them crying for ages at a time (and I’ve always had the dreaded ‘what if one wakes up the other’ fear in the back of my mind). But tonight I’m being hard core: I’m going to sleep on the sofa in the living room, so there will be two closed doors between my infants and me, and I’ll visit them to resettle and to feed once or twice, but other than that they’ll have to calm themselves down.

Anyway, let’s not dwell on that likely unpleasantness (and as I write this Joe is yowling in the bedroom – we’re up to seven minutes in the timed intervals). Here are some photos from the last couple of days.

Hattie and Joe started yesterday morning with the man, the myth, the legend: big cousin Jordan.

20130829-205745.jpg

Under Jordan’s influence, Joe decided to wear his bib on his head:

20130829-205824.jpg

And was delighted to do so (he wore it for an entire feed, with it done up behind his head like a bandanna):

20130829-205907.jpg

Not much else happened yesterday, although Tristan’s stepsisters Vicky and Andy very kindly babysat for a couple of hours and enabled me to leave the house child-free. Pat and I only went to the supermarket, but still!!!

This morning, Richard drove Vicky, Andy, Vicky’s son Will and big cousin Jordan to the airport (sob), and Nanna Pat started what was to be a very full baby day:

20130829-210222.jpg

I had a magnificent two hour nap. Later, the babies played outside:

20130829-210307.jpg

Hattie was very interested in this mirror, and both she and Joe felt compelled to look at the back of it as well and see if they could discover the babies that they kept seeing:

20130829-210419.jpg

I had another wee nap in the afternoon, because Pat is a bloody legend, and then I was up in time for the babies’ dinner. Today, Hattie suddenly decided that she wanted to feed herself. It’s fair to say that her ambition outstrips her ability at this stage:

20130829-210625.jpg

20130829-210737.jpg

Joe admired her endeavour, but he was enjoying being fed by his Nanna:

20130829-224702.jpg

And he ended up wearing his fair share of pumpkin as well…

20130829-224751.jpg

Leave a Reply

